Telescope Advice

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  davnie 4 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

davnie
    0p

On 12/10/2012 11:15, Dave wrote:
    I would like some professional advice re a telescope i am about to purchase; it is the 8 inch Meade ETX – LS ACF which is pretty easy to use I hope. I am completely new to telescope purchasing but have done a bit of research on scopes of various types. I have a feeling that GoTo + automatic alignment would give me fewer headaches to begin with and provide a pro-scope look at the heavens. Any thoughts would be gratefully received.
    Thanks
    Dave

Anonymous
    0p

Hi
    I am also new to the world of scopes. I am surprised you haven’t had a reply as yet ,i am sure it wont be long before someone on here gives you the information you are wanting.
    Regards to the GO-To i bought a Sky watcher 127 some weeks ago ,this being my first ever scope. It takes a bit to get to grips with the go-to handset and still after 3 weeks and only 4 nights of being able to use it. The advice i was given ,was to get a telescope that had a go -to as this would be idea for someone never used a scope before.  I have managed to connect it to my computer and during the day test it with a program called stellarium. Good luck and i hope you get many replies

davnie
    0p

Cheers Graham! I’ll keep looking for further advice; thanks for yours.
    Dave

David Galvin
    Administrator
    2p

Hi David and Graham,