Advice on Buying First Telescope Please

The Liverpool Astronomical Society Forums Help and Advice Advice on Buying First Telescope Please

This topic contains 16 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Mike 3 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author

MichaelDeighton
    0p

Hello. I am a complete Novice and wish to learn more about Astronomy. After watching the recent series of Stargazing Programmes on BBC last week, I am now wish to buy my first Telescope. I am sure you’ve been asked this question before but which one should I buy ?

Having done some research, I wish to opt for a Reflector Telescope and I am looking to spend around £300.00. I initially found information about the Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope which costs around £150.00 then noticed something like the Skymax-102 SynScan AZ GOTO for around £300.00 which is being advertised at Opticstar, Manchester.

I would be really grateful for some recommendations to narrow the field as it does seem a bit of a minefield.

Many thanks

Brendan Martin
    Administrator
    1p

Hi Michael, they are two very different telescopes you have chosen, it all depends on what you want to see and how and where you will be using your telescope, I would advise coming up to our observatory one Wednesday evening to have a chat and if the weather is clear having a look through different telescopes, buying your first telescope is a minefield so best take your time so as you get something you find easy to use and suits your needs, we are open to the public every Wednesday from 7pm.
    Regards
    Brendan

MichaelDeighton
    0p

Many Thanks Brendan. I’d love to take you up on the offer of a visit and hopefully, Weather permitting will try and arrange to come along next Wednesday.

Toffeeman100
    0p

Hi