Questions about Wednesday's meeting

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Whatsthematter 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

ianpwilliams
    0p

Hi everyone

I am a complete newbie to astronomy, so much so that I haven’t even bought any equipment yet, but I am planning on buying a telescope and mount. I’ve done a huge amount of research, and I’m really taking my time over it, and I’ve decided that it’s between two particular mounts (the Skywatcher EQ5 and HEQ5), and between two (or technically four) different scopes (the Skywatcher 150P, 150PDS, 200P, 200PDS). There are of course several factors that come into it, including price, weight, location, what I plan to do with it, how I plan to upgrade in the future, and so on.

So I was hoping to come along to this Wednesday’s meeting to see if I could talk to a few people about it, and maybe get some views and opinions. And if it was possible, I did wonder if any members would be likely to have any scopes set up, not necessarily any of the ones above, but maybe similar apertures, just so I could get an idea of what can be seen (although can you see much at 7pm-9pm at this time of year?).

Also, as I sadly have no car (I will be a back yard stargazer), my only option for getting there would be public transport. I’m in Edge Hill, so my only train option would be Edge Hill to Widnes, and then a taxi to the observatory, which is quite a long journey, and quiet expensive (but worth it I think). But I wondered if anyone knows of any buses from Liverpool which stop any nearer to the obervatory than Widnes train station?

Colin Murray
    3p